top of page
Featured Posts

Big, Beautiful Geraniums

I love geraniums! I love the bright green, lacy leaves and the big, bold blooms. I also love that geraniums provide bright color all season with very little effort on my part. I water them regularly, give them a handful of general-purpose fertilizer every so often, and they’re happy. Another good thing? Slugs don’t like them!

I’m partial to old-fashioned garden geraniums in pure, bright red and I look forward to growing several in pots on my patio every spring. If red isn’t your color, geraniums come in various shades of coral, pink, salmon, orange, and white. You can also get garden geraniums with variegated leaves marked with silver, green, and white.

I’m a lazy gardener by the time autumn rolls around. When I think we’re getting close to the first frost, I shove the pots in the garage. I don’t trim them. I don’t feed or water them. I totally neglect them until spring when I bring them back into the sunlight and fresh air. I water and feed them and in no time, they’re blooming like crazy.

Don’t forget about ivy geraniums. Ivy geraniums cascade and overflow, filling hanging baskets with plump, ivy-like leaves and blooms in shades of lavender, red, pink, and white.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page